I Love A Parade

August 10, 2008 at 1:51 pm (Sport) (, )

The months until my PGCE starts have suddenly become weeks and terrifyingly may soon become days.  I’m slowly panicing at my lack of preparation or reading.  You would think that would prompt me to do some reading but I get precious little free time as it is – I don’t need to go completely insane.

So instead I’m indulging in my four yearly sport fest that is the Olympics.  I’m not a very sporty person – in fact that’s an understatement.  I am completely unfit and the only sport I actively watch is football.  I say actively watch, I just hang around with men mostly so I have over the years learnt how to enjoy watching a football match – I never go out of my way to do so.  My point is you wouldn’t expect me to be the sort of person who is watching live streams of all the Olympic events, but you’d be wrong.

I fell in love with the Olympics because of my insomnia originally.  I’ve had trouble sleeping since I was a small child and it’s led to me watching a huge amount of late night television.  The Olympics is fantastic for insomnia if it’s being held in a country with a decent time difference – and of course the advent of the internet and interactive television means you can watch whichever event you want.  Well I says that, unfortunately it’s not true.  For some reason you can only watch one of four events going on on the BBC at any one time.  Why no fencing yesterday eh? eh?  But I digress.

I got into the Olympics because of insomnia but I stayed into it because of the education value.  I love learnign about something new – jack of all trades, master of none is a phrase designed for me.  So the thrill of getting into something for a week, learning all it’s rules, tricks, skills, conventions is just amazing.  I’ve watched weightlifting, three day eventing, badminton (lots of badminton – it was seriously competitive and they haven’t even whittle the field down yet!), gymnastics and much more and absolutely loved it.

Frankly I don’t have the long term endurance that is needed to get into a sport or support a team day in day out all year long.  But two weeks (give or take a few days) is the perfect length of time to get feversihly excited about sports.

On a final note though please don’t think I’m unaware of the fact that a totalitarian dictatorship is running the show here though.  While watching the events and thinking “Wow that is an amazing and huge facility they’ve got there” don’t ever forget that it was built using slave labour and that people have lost their homes and jobs for it to be there.  China is trying to put on a pretty show for the rest of the world to distract us from their apalling abuses of human rights (and possibly as well to distract from their pals the Russians killing innocent Georgian civilans but that’s for another post). They’ve succeeded in putting on a pretty show and I will thoroughly enjoy watching it – but I won’t for one minute allow it to distract me from the truth about the Chinese regime.

Leave a Reply

