I’m getting old

October 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm (Uncategorized)

The lack of general knowledge amongst teenagers terrifies me! Today I saw a group of year 11’s be given a simple quiz about what’s going on in the news.  This was not obscure politics or trivia but straightforward stuff that anybody who has glanced at the Metro or seen a tv screen would know.  However they struggled with every question bar those on X Factor (actually that was only easy for those who were bothering to take part).

But what really scared me was when I started trying to give them hints to make the answers incredibly easy to get.  One group was trying to work out which country Joerg Haider was from.  They’d guessed Germany. In fairness this demonstrates these kids are by no means thick.  They’d worked out it was a German sounding name.  They just lack the general knowledge to know any better.  So in an effort to help them I gave them the clue that it was the same country that Arnold Schwarzenegger was from.  Their response?  “The Californian Governor?”.

See on the one hand I’m very pleased they know who the Governor of California is. However on the other hand I’m saddened that I’ve turned into one of those old people who thinks of Ronald Reagan as an actor not a politician.  These kids see Arnie as a serious politician, not The Terminator!!  What sad world they must live in.  So just for the kids I give you the man himself (oh and in case you were wondering they changed their answer to Norway – go figure)

Leave a Reply

