Where is Time Going?

November 9, 2008 at 5:47 pm (Uncategorized)

Red Tape

I cannot believe I haven’t posted since 21st October.  I keep thinking it was only a few days ago and therefore it doesn’t matter that much.  Sadly time seems to be slipping away from me now faster than complaints about Russell Brand are flying in to the BBC.   As you may have guessed this means I’ve started teaching a few lessons now.  And by few that is all I mean.  I’m teaching half my timetable, which is itself half of a normal teachers timetable.  God knows how anyone is meant to plan that many lessons and mark all that work.  I’m barely coping with what I have.  But then again I suppose teachers don’t always have to submit lesson plans 48 hours in advance, or write lesson evaluations after every lesson, or spend ages filing all that inforation in a specific file for college, or working on pointless essays about pedagogy or doing stupid school based studies.

Ahem – rant got ahead of me there sorry.  But you see my point. I’m loving the teaching and the lesson planning and marking is arduous but I can do it (unlike spellinng arduous which is giving me real hassle) and I really enjoy it.  All the PGCE bits that college demands we do is just seeming to get on the way.  By all means constantly supervise my lessons and observe me all day long.  I need all the feedback and constructive criticism I can get.  If I didn’t have that I’d be drowning.  But why on earth do I have to write stupid bloody essays all weekend on stupid bloody theories written by stupid bloody educational theorists.

This is where being in the system rather than a commentating political junkie shows you the difference.  A year ago I would have been ranting about the shocking state of Secondary school teachers and demanding they be forced to write Masters levels essays on pedagogy to prove they know what they’re doing.  Now I am of a very different mood.  Watch teachers in their classrooms all you like to check how they’re doing but get out of their way and let them get on with their bloody job.

Leave a Reply

