Oops

September 5, 2009 at 11:26 pm (Uncategorized)

So I didn’t do too well at updating the blog last year.  What can I say?  PGCE was busy and stressful.  Whereas of course this year is going to be a breeze…yeah right!  NQTdom is terrifying – as of next week I shall be teaching classes, all on my own, with total responsibility for making sure they shut up and learn.  I’m bricking it.

I remember how I felt the first time I taught last year.  I was scared, feeling sick and absolutely terrified it would all go wrong.  In general it didn’t.  Disaster didn’t really strike.  Sure it was rough at times but I got through it.  But that was the thing – I wasn’t their teacher.  There was invariably someone else in the room or at least down the corridor so when they got out of hand there was somebody else to back me up.  Now I have a job at a very rough school and I have loads of key stage 3 classes as well as my A-Level students who are going to run rings around me.  How do you deal with rioting year 9’s when youu don’t even know their names!  By the end of next week I should have an answer to that.

Anyway I intend a weekly update from now on.  With any luck that shouldn’t be too ambitious.  By it’s very nature the NQT year is going to be a lot more solitary so I’m going to have to rant somewhere.  By the way – all those horrible PGCE people I was bitching about turned out to be some of the best friends I ever made so I’m not going to go with my first judgement of hating most people at my new school.  I’m sure they’ll turn out to be lovely and fascinating.  Here’s hoping anyway.

Leave a Reply

