Imagine

May 6, 2016 at 1:30 pm (Politics) ()

I turned on the election results at about half past midnight to see Nicky Morgan and John McDonnell just shouting over each other.  What does that actually achieve?  How does it help anyone?  How does it further anything?

So as you may be able to guess when I walked to the polling station yesterday I was feeling pretty clueless about who to vote for.  I hate the tribalism of politics and it is what drove me away from the Conservative Party.  Not because they are any more tribal than other political parties.  It is a constant state of whether you are with us or against us in all parties, and then whether you are with your subset or against your subset within that party.

The simple truth is that David Cameron does not wake up in the morning thinking “how can I make the country worse?”, whatever anyone thinks.  Nor does Jeremy Corbyn, nor Nicola Sturgeon, nor Leanne Wood.  Everyone (almost) in politics genuinely feels what they are doing is for the best.  I know it can be hard to believe but seriously – nobody decides to be a politician because they want to screw the country up. If you were given complete control of the country tomorrow you would not create utopia. Hard to accept I know.  But when dealing with the interests of 65 million people you are not going to make everything right for everybody all of the time.

And this is why I change who I vote for all the time.  Yes even when I was a member of the Conservative party.  Every time I walk into that polling booth I make an informed choice based on the policies and politics of the day.  But today I was feeling a bit sad because as I no longer live in London I could not express my support for a movement I feel very strongly will make a difference and that is the Women’s Equality Party.  So on my back from voting I made sure to finally sign up and join them.  If WEP deliver what they promise then we are looking at cross party support for the issues that matter most to me – ensuring that the inequality of the sexes does not continue any further into 21st Century Britain.

But I did not come here to lecture you about feminism – I know better.  The point though is stop being so damned tribal about politics.  Conservative, Labour, Plaid, SNP – they are all doing what they think is best and screaming at them that they are wrong is not going to change their mind.  Try listening and understanding and you will find you have common ground – you generall agree on the ends just not the means so maybe reaching some understanding would benefit everyone. The fact that WEP is trying to achieve this to some extent is the biggest reason I am willing to give them my support and I truly hope they continue to move forward in the future.

Leave a Reply

